2018 Athletes Commission Unveiled



The first meeting of the newly appointed Athletes Commission tool place on Saturday as the 7 person commission to represent Para Athletes came together for the first time at the National Sports Campus. 


Para Cyclist, Eoghan Clifford, was selected as the new chairperson for the commission succeeding the outgoing chair, James McCarthy. Former chairperson, Eimear Breathnach, was also present to give her advice based on her experience on previous iterations of the Commission.

Eoghan is joined on the Commission by fellow Para Cyclist, Peter Ryan. Helen Arbuthnot who represented Ireland in Para rowing in London and she also brings extra experience with her having served on the previous commission. Para Athletics legend, Jason Smyth, has joined the commission and will be joined by fellow Paralympics medallist, Niamh McCarthy.

James Scully is one of the Para Swimmers that is currently preparing for the Para Swimming Allianz European Championships to be held in Dublin later this year and 2 time Paralympics Boccia player Padraic Moran will also be a vital member of the commission.

The Paralympics Ireland Athletes Commission will now begin working on a number of projects and are urging any of their fellow Para Athletes to contact them on info@paralympics.ie should they want to discuss any issues.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Paralympics Ireland

Irish Sport HQ
Sport Ireland Campus
Dubin 15
D15 D462

Registered Charity Number (CRA)


CHY Number


Company Registration Number


Paralympics Ireland Title Sponsor

Paralympics Ireland International Partners

Governing Bodies

Skip to content