Irish Team Named For 2024 Para-cycling Track World Championships

12082023-RB5_4266-min (1)

Cycling Ireland have announced the Irish team to compete in the 2024 Para-cycling Track World Championships in Rio De Janeiro from March 20th-24th.

A strong team of 11 riders will represent Ireland on the world stage following a successful 2023 World Championships, which saw Ireland bring home five bronze medals from Glasgow last August.

And all five medals are set to be defended in Brazil as Ireland look to hit the ground running in an important championship for qualification as well as fine-tuning for the 2024 Paris Paralympic Games, which will get underway 200 days.

Ireland will be well represented with two tandem pairings in both the men and women’s categories. Ronan Grimes, Richael Timothy and Chris Burns will compete in the individual events.

Multiple world and Paralympic medalists Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal combine following their individual pursuit bronze in Glasgow. Linda Kelly pilots Josephine Healion as the duo continue to develop as a track tandem pairing.

In the men’s tandem, Eoin Mullen pilots Martin Gordon, while Mitchell McLaughlin and Damien Vereker begin their second season as a tandem pairing.

National Para-cycling Coach, Jamie Blanchfield, said:

“We are excited to name such a strong and experienced team for the upcoming World Track World Championships in Rio. This will be the last major Championships in advance of the Paris Paralympics later this year. This event represents a key point in our qualification campaign and also affords us a crucial benchmarking opportunity in our final preparations for the Paralympic Games.”

Individual events and Ireland’s schedule will be confirmed in our full preview of the 2024 Para-cycling World Championships before the event.

Ireland Team – 2024 Para-cycling Track World Championships

Ronan Grimes – MC4

Richael Timothy – WC3

Chris Burns – MC2

Katie George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal – WB

Josephine Healion and Linda Kelly – WB

Martin Gordon and Eoin Mullen – MB

Damien Vereker and Mitchell McLaughlin – MB

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Paralympics Ireland

Irish Sport HQ
Sport Ireland Campus
Dubin 15
D15 D462

Registered Charity Number (CRA)


CHY Number


Company Registration Number


Paralympics Ireland Title Sponsor

Paralympics Ireland International Partners

Governing Bodies

Skip to content