Team Ireland announced for 2021 World Para Athletics European Championships

22 July 2017; Michael McKillop of Ireland after winning the Men's 1500m, T37, Final during the 2017 Para Athletics World Championships at the Olympic Stadium in London. Photo by Luc Percival/Sportsfile *** NO REPRODUCTION FEE ***

The Irish team that will compete at the World Para Athletics Championships was announced today. Team Ireland will compete in Bydgoszcz, Poland from 1-5 June at the Zdzisław Krzyszkowiak Stadium.

The Irish team that will represent Team Ireland in Poland boasts plenty of Paralympic Games, World and European medallists. Michael McKillop, Greta Streimikyte, Mary Fitzgerald, Jordan Lee, David Leavy and Niamh McCarthy will make up the six-person team travelling to Poland.

This European Championships will serve as one last key opportunity for athletes to get back competing on the international stage against athletes in similar classes, which have been extremely limited due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Mary Fitzgerald will make her debut appearance at a European Championships for Team Ireland, Mary appeared at the World Championships in 2019 in the F40 Shot Put, which was her first appearance at a major Para competition. The Kilkenny native will be joined by Jordan Lee, who won bronze in the T47 High Jump at the 2018 edition of the European Championships, Jordan will set his sights on a podium place in Poland.

Paralympics legend, Michael McKillop will feature for Team Ireland in the T38 1500m, the Rio 2016 gold medallist will utilize the European Championships as a final opportunity to compete internationally before the team announcement for Team Ireland at the Paralympic Games. Niamh McCarthy will compete in the F41 Discus, Niamh’s last appearance for Team Ireland was one to remember, a bronze medal in the 2019 World Championships, a result which also secured a crucial slot for Team Ireland at the 2020 Paralympic Games.

The six-person team will also include Greta Streimikyte and David Leavy, both who will appear in the 1500m in their respected classes, two athletes who will have their sights set on podium finishes in Poland.

Speaking on the announcement, Head of Para Athletics, James Nolan said: “It is great to have an opportunity to compete again on the international stage. It has been a difficult year; however, the athletes have shown their dedication and commitment throughout. They are ready, in very good shape and will represent their country with pride in Poland.”

More details can be found HERE

Team Ireland for World Para Athletics Championships, Poland, 01-05 June:

Michael McKillop (T38 1500m)

David Leavy (T38 1500m)

Greta Streimikyte (T13 1500m)

Niamh McCarthy (F41 Discus)

Jordan Lee (T47 High Jump)

Mary Fitzgerald (F40 Shot Put)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Paralympics Ireland

Irish Sport HQ
Sport Ireland Campus
Dubin 15
D15 D462

Registered Charity Number (CRA)


CHY Number


Company Registration Number


Paralympics Ireland Title Sponsor

Paralympics Ireland International Partners

Governing Bodies

Skip to content